The Inner Weirdo

“Mediocrity has had it’s day.  That day is so over”:  I read this line a couple of days ago in Hugh MacLeod’s new book “Evil Plans” (more about that to follow).

This thought has really stuck with me this week, and as happens when I become more conscious of something,  I have found myself repetitively confronted by on onslaught of “Blah”.   Like really conservative, boring, random, uninspirational, unambitious, single-minded, beige thinking. *Shudder*.  And, not surprisingly, I’ve decided this kind of paradigm is definitely not okay for me.  I. Expect. More.

Fortunately for me, “More” is readily available and on tap whenever I need it as I am also surrounded by incredibly mischievous, visionary, non conformists who believe in quality and totally awesome outcomes.  Hurrah!

So this blog is in honour of those Weido’s that regularly help me through (sometimes just by being there) and a celebration of not being “normal”, of being unique, kooky, eccentric, authentic, passionate and true.

Anyone who knows me would agree, I’m a bit left of centre.  You can’t really put me in a “box” –  boxes are not for me.   Once upon a time, this may have bothered me about myself, but now (older and wiser and all that) I ABSOLUTELY LOVE THIS ABOUT MYSELF!  In fact, I’d go as far as saying that it is my single favourite quality and it’s the usually one of the things I adore about those I love – for me it makes people seem more real, rather than just corporate clones, which, let’s face it, there are more than plenty of.

So when I came across Cool Cat Teacher’s “5 Wonderful Ways to be Weird”, I thought SHARE IT.  It may just help others on their quest to embrace the “Inner Weirdo”.  Here’s her top tips for weirdness:

5 Wonderful Ways to Be Weird

1. Break your routine. Go somewhere different. Go outside when you usually go inside. Eat a different kind of food.

2. Associate with people who are different than you. Find someone who is not in your “circle of friends” this week and spend some time getting to know him/her. Ask him about his childhood. Ask her about her favorite things to do. Listen.

3. Find something that inspires you. Search for your favorite creative past time on Youtube and learn something new.

4. Do something creative. Art. Poetry. A Blog. Tweet a haiku. Take 15 minutes to create something out of the ordinary. Take a photograph.

5. Turn off the technology. Take an hour, a day or a week and turn it ALL off. All of it. TV. Radio. (did I just say radio – who listens to that any more?) Cell phone. Computers. Twitter. All of it. Go somewhere to be alone without it. Or just sit in your house Clear your mind and think. Use a mindmap or your journal or whatever to just think about your life, something creative, anything. Just take a mental vacation. Tackle something you’ve been wanting to spend time thinking about. Just be.”

If you want more, check out the whole post here:  http://bit.ly/etcbrt

Meg x

Leave a Reply

