I Pin You Real Bad

I am out-and-out obsessed with Pinterest, a relatively new social media platform which allows you to bookmark and catalogue images (and their links) by ‘pinning’ them onto personal virtual pin boards.

According to their site: “Pinterest is a social catalog service. Think of it as a virtual pinboard — a place where you can post collections of things you love, and “follow” collections created by people with great taste.”

I find myself lost (like hours and hours spent) in this world of beautiful images, ideas, inspiration and mischievousness and it is proving a very useful tool for being able to quickly find links I like.

It is really easy to use, has a built-in browser “pin it” button which is extremely intuitive and the board pinning system is gorgeous.  There are supporting apps available for iPhone and iPad. It links my selected pins to Facebook and Twitter so it’s easy to share.  And it’s very customizable. It’s nothing short of brilliant.

The added bonus, like many social media sites, is the relationship side of it.  My besties and I pin to each other’s boards with images and messages to help one another laugh, feel better, give a boost or share a moment – I gotta tell ya, and this is a BIG call, but it is my favourite SM tool by a million miles.

To demonstrate how obsessed I am:  I currently have 33 boards with over 1550 pins and rising!

If you want to come check out my stuff I am here at http://pinterest.com/killermouse/. If this sounds like you and you are interested in an invitation let me know and I’ll send or if you are on Pinterest too, let me know!  I’d love to see what’s inspiring you.

If you’re even a tad creative, crafty or find yourself regularly moved by beautiful things, I guarantee this is the next big thing for you!

Meg

2 responses

  1. I know exactly what you mean. I got hooked by their term ‘curating’ when they refer to the way that you compile boards – sounds like you are running your own little gallery, quite irresistible!
    Bookmarking and surfing via graphics – brilliant idea!

Leave a Reply

