Technology and me: A Tribute to Steve Jobs and an Ipad App that has me Drooling

To me, technology is one of the greater joys in life.  I am completely grateful for what it has helped me to achieve, where it has taken me and who I have met, thanks to the wonders of social media and technology.  Through this window I get to experience the greatest emotions  – feelings of community, belonging, sharing, caring, inspiration, knowledge, learning, discovery, exploration, joy, excitement – the list goes on.  I get this isn’t everyone’s reality – but you know, so what – we each find what we are looking for via different sources and I respect that.

My brand of choice for this technology – the window I choose to look through – is Apple.  I am totally “Mac-ed Up” and would never go back (*pouts* with contempt  at the thought of using pathetic excuse for non-Apple work computer).  So this week when I heard about Steve Jobs and just how unwell he is, I felt great sadness.  This is an amazing man and he may just go down as one of the greatest CEO’s of all time – he has completely changed life as we know it.

In honour of Steve, I think it only  fitting that I share with you one of my favourite apps of the moment – The Fantastic Flying Books of Mr Morris Lessmore.    This app is truly spectacular and awe-inspiring.  Based on an award winning short film, the app is part movie, part book, part interactive play and 100% delight.    Here’s the trailer to give you a taste:

From me this app represents a fitting tribute to Steve and I know I am one of many that wish him all the best as he battles this horrible disease and thank him for his innovative spirit, his genius and the treasures he has given to us.

Meg

2 responses

Leave a Reply

